Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Dublin, Pulaski electing leaders Tuesday



Residents of Dublin and Pulaski will head to the polls Tuesday to decide who leads their communities for the next four years.

For the first time in years, there’s a chance half of Dublin’s town council could be new because three newcomers and three incumbents are vying for three seats. Pulaski’s town council race also is contested. Five candidates, including two incumbents, are running for three seats there.

In both towns, the top three vote getters become the victors.

Dublin Mayor Benny Skeens is not up for re-election this year. In Pulaski, the mayor’s term is up for renewal, but Nick Glenn decided not to seek a second term. Councilman David Clark, who is unopposed, will be Pulaski’s new mayor come July 1, barring defeat through a write-in campaign.

Polls open at 6 a.m. Tuesday and close at 7 p.m. Anyone in line to vote at 7 will be able to cast a ballot.

Dublin residents vote at Dublin Lions Club, 100 Lions Club Drive. Pulaski residents cast ballots at Central Gym, 143 Third St. NW, Pulaski.

As in November, votes will be cast on paper ballots and then scanned into a system that tallies the votes.

On Dublin’s ballot, residents will choose no more than three candidates from a list of six: Peggy H. Hemmings, Dallas L. Cox, Stephen F. Crigger, Debbie M. Lyons, Jared M. Smith and Debbie P. Hager. Hemmings, Cox and Crigger are the incumbents in that race.

After casting a vote for Clark or writing in a candidate for mayor of Pulaski, town residents will choose no more than three of the five candidates seeking seats: Lane R. Penn, Brooks R. Dawson, H.M. Kidd, G. Tyler Clontz and Joel B. Burchett Jr. Penn and Kidd are the incumbents.



You must be logged in to post a comment Login