Byrd re-elected as VAPDC secretary/treasurer



New River Valley Planning District Commission’s executive director has been elected to his fourth term as secretary/treasurer of Virginia Association of Planning District Commissions (VAPDC).

Kevin Byrd, who has more than 10 years of experience in planning, was elected to the VAPDC’s 2014-15 board of directors during the organization’s summer conference held July 25 in Williamsburg.

Byrd serves as president of the Southwest Virginia nonprofit agency ‘Round the Mountain, is a member of American Institute of Certified Planners, and is on the board of directors for National Association of Development Organizations.

He has been with NRVPDC, which serves Pulaski County, since Oct. 2009.

Created by Virginia General Assembly in 1969, planning district commissions are intended to encourage and facilitate regional solutions to problems of area-wide significance. There are 21 PDCs and regional commissions in Virginia. They are made up of elected officials and citizens appointed by local governments.



You must be logged in to post a comment Login