Seven Lady Cougars receive All-Conference soccer honors


When you’re selected, out of over 400,000 applicants, as the Gatoraide National High School Player of the Year, being selected as the Conference 24 Player of the Year should come as no surprise.

That was the case as Katie Cousins of Jefferson Forest was selected for the honor in the recently released All-Conference 24 team. Her coach at Jefferson Forest, Stan Golon, was named as the Coach of the Year.

One Lady Cougar was selected to the first team unit, as senior Ericka Nash was picked to be one of the defensive players for that unit. She is joined by Cousins at midfield, Tayte Royer (defense), Katie Griffin (midfield) and Brooke Valentine (forward) of E.C. Glass. Skyler Hayes (defense) and Anna Hakkenburg (midfield) of Salem, along with Cassidy Ratliff (forward) and Lauren Vann (defense) of Jefferson Forest round out the list.

Pulaski County saw two players named the the second team unit, Briana Blankenship and Lauren Dunford. The remaining second team consists of Holley Carrington (forward), Emily Griffin, and Alex Royer of E.C. Glass, Jessica Mitchell and Claire Lee of Jefferson Forest, along with Ellie Look, Maia Foley, Shannon Dishaw and Hannah Winstead of Salem.

Four Lady Cougars were selected for the Honorable Mention list. Kristina Simpkins, Erin McPeake, Lexy Hurst and Konner Deeds are joined by players from William Fleming, Bassett, Carroll County, E.C. Glass, Jefferson Forest, and Salem.

Screen Shot 2014-06-16 at 1.59.18 PM



You must be logged in to post a comment Login