LewisGale Hospital-Pulaski announces Frist Humanitarian Award winners




LewisGale Hospital-Pulaski recently honored an employee, volunteer and a physician with its prestigious 2013 Frist Humanitarian Award – the highest honor a person can receive at an HCA facility, the parent company of LewisGale Regional Health System.

At a special recognition ceremony held recently, the hospital presented the awards to Judy Weatherington, 2013 Frist Humanitarian Employee Award; Joel Stuart, 2013 Frist Humanitarian Volunteer Award, and Dr. Karanita Ojomo 2013 Frist Humanitarian Physician Award.

According to Mark Nichols, CEO of LewisGale Hospital-Pulaski, it was a great privilege to recognize those individuals for the commitment and care they give to their patients.

“They give unselfishly to others, they go well beyond their responsibilities and what is expected of them, and they are the reason our hospital delivers quality, compassionate care.”

According to a news release from LewisGale Hospital-Pulaski, the Frist Humanitarian Awards were created in 1971. They are awarded annually at HCA-affiliated hospitals to an employee, volunteer, and physician who demonstrate extraordinary concern for the welfare and happiness of patients and their communities.

The winners from each hospital also have a chance to win the national Frist Humanitarian Award. At the awards ceremony, Weatherington, Stuart and Ojomo were recognized individually for their significant efforts, as were the other nominees.

Weatherington is an Administrative Assistant to the hospital’s Chief Financial Officer and has been a dedicated employee for nearly 20 years. She was nominated by her fellow employees, in part for her ethics, her commitment to her work, family and community, and for the example she sets for other employees.


“She has been so faithful and loyal to this hospital and all those in it, is a friend to everyone at Pulaski and has helped so many of us through the years,” wrote one employee on the nomination form. “She never complains, never says ‘no,’ and never gives up.”

Stuart is a volunteer at LewisGale Hospital-Pulaski, where he has provided more than 540 hours of service since beginning in 2011. In addition to his hospital volunteerism, Stuart is an active member of the Lion’s Club, serves on numerous committees at his church and is very active with his family.


“He has a way of brightening up a room, and the patients and staff members look forward to seeing him walk through the department,” according to a description written on his nomination form. “He is kind and caring at all times and his actions speak volumes about his character.”


Ojomo is a Radiation Oncologist at LewisGale Regional Cancer Center Pulaski, as well as the current Med Staff Chair. According to the release, she is very active in the community, and is a visible hospital ambassador, serving as a board member for Beans and Rice and for the Fine Arts Center for the New River Valley.

“She is well known for the compassionate care she provides for patients of our Regional Cancer Center,” wrote a co-worker on her nomination form. “The growth of our cancer center is a testament to the concern and care she shows for our patients. She truly embodies the sprit that the Frist Award was designed to recognize.”

Nominees for the Frist Humanitarian Employee Award included Dawn Coble, Diane Collins, Billy Cook, Debbie Dishon, Sara Edwards, Wendy Hay, Michele Keesling, Sammy Mabe, Etthan Miller, Mary Lou Phillips, Dee Dee Thigpen and Helen Wolfe.

Nominees for the Frist Humanitarian Volunteer Award included Mollie Hedge, Inez Quesenberry, Wayne Ratcliffe and Agnes Shelton.

Nominees for the Frist Humanitarian Physicians Award included Dr. Ajay Acharya, Dr. Yung Chan, Dr. Ehikioya Osombor and Dr. Dixon Williams.

“This incredible healthcare team touches every aspect of our patients’ care and experience at LewisGale Hospital-Pulaski and they are the reason patients trust them and trust that they are receiving the highest levels of quality, compassionate care,” Nichols added.



You must be logged in to post a comment Login