Young basketball champions compete in Hoop Shoot Contest

Hoop Shoot ChampsBy CALVIN PYNN


Champions from Pulaski’s elementary and middle school basketball teams met at Central School Gym on Sunday, Jan. 5, for the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks National Hoop Shoot Contest.

All local schools were contacted and asked to have inner school contest and send their school Champs to the Lodge Shoot Off. Shooters competed in their gender and age groups, which ranged from 8-13 years.

Dublin Middle School’s champion was Robert Fox, while Pulaski Elementary was represented by champions Keslyn Secrist and Emmerson Scott. Critzer Elementary’s champions were Julian Crigger, Parker Dalton and Shelly Whitaker.

Riverlawn Elementary’s school champions were Ethan Walker, Demarcus Hayden, Lindsey Riddle, and Mollie Perdue. Hoop shoot champions from Snowville Elementary were Eli Walden, Zeke Surber and Brooklyn Porter.

The shooters were awarded a t-shirt emblazed with Elks Hoop Shoot Logo, indicating the wearer is a Hoop Shoot School Champion. Achievement certificates will also be sent to each school principle and given out in the year-end awards assemblies.

The Lodge Champs will be invited to a district level competition, and District winners will compete at state level. State winners will have the opportunity to go to a National Free Throw Shoot Off.

The national winner’s name will be inscribed on a special plaque at the Basketball Hall of Fame, in Springfield, Mass.

Champions going to District Shoot Off in Fieldale on Jan. 25 are Fox, 13, of Fairlawn; Crigger, 11, of Newbern; Hayden, 9, of New River; Secrist, 9, of Draper, and Perdue, 11, of Dublin.



You must be logged in to post a comment Login