Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Senior Center announces January events

By CALVIN PYNN

calvin@southwesttimes.com

 

The Town of Pulaski Senior Center has announced their upcoming events for the month of January.

These events include food celebrations, field trips, and lighter recreation including game and movie nights. Most events are free, although some require advanced registration prior to the event.

The Senior Center will offer several food related activity days, including Oatmeal Day on Friday, Jan. 10, Fig Newton Day on Thursday, Jan. 16, and National Pie Day on Thursday, Jan. 23.

Oatmeal Day and Fig Newton Day are free, although registration deadline for Fig Newton Day is Tuesday, Jan. 14. The registration deadline for National Pie Day is Tuesday, Jan. 21, and the cost is $1 per person.

A couple field trips have been planned for the month as well. The first will be the Lunch Bunch on Monday, Jan. 13, at Macado’s; those who wish to attend can meet at the restaurant, or ride the van for $1, and attendees will pay for their own lunch.

The next trip will be to the Pulaski Moose Lodge to play Bingo on Wednesday Jan. 15. The cost will be $1 per person, and registration deadline is noon on Thursday, Jan. 9.

There will also be a trip to Red Robin in Christiansburg on Monday, Jan. 27. Attendees will pay for their own lunch, the cost to ride is $3 per person, and the registration deadline is Thursday, Jan 23.

The Senior Center will also host a couple game days in January; two Scrabble Days on Thursday Jan. 9 and Jan. 30, and Bingo Day on Wednesday, Jan. 29. Both game days are free, and the Scrabble Days will take place from 1-3 p.m., while Bingo will be from 1-2 p.m.

Movie Day at the Senior Center will be Wednesday Jan. 22 at 1 p.m., when the film Safe Haven will be shown. The cost is $1 per person, and the deadline to register for the event is Tuesday, Jan. 21.

There will also be a Brown Bag Lunch at the Senior Center on Friday, Jan. 31 at noon. The deadline to register is Tuesday, Jan. 28, and the Senior Center will provide drinks and dessert while attendees will bring their own lunch.

Phase 10 will be played at the Senior Center every Tuesday this month from 1-3 p.m. The center will also close in observance of Lee/Jackson Day on Friday, Jan. 17, and Martin Luther King Jr. day on Monday, Jan. 20.

For more information on these and other upcoming events with the Senior Center, call 540-994-8627, or visit www.pulaskitown.org.

Comments

comments

You must be logged in to post a comment Login